The E J Brady short story competition is contested throughout Australia and beyond. The major short story category the "Mallacoota Prize" has a first prize of $2000, with the runner up receiving $300.

The very short story category the "Gabo Prize" has a first prize of $500.

Results for the E.J Brady 2015-16 short story competition.

The Mallacoota Arts Council is pleased to provide a prize of $2000 for the winning story in the major short story category, the "Mallacoota Prize" for stories up to 2500 words with the runner up receiving $300.

The "Gabo Prize" for stories of less than 700 words, has a first prize of $500. 

The judges are also able to make an encouragement award of $100 to an entrant who has not previously been paid for a published story.

Results of the E J Brady short story competition 2015-16.

The winner of the $2000 "Mallacoota Prize" is Julie Woodland

from Wembely WA for her story "Bluebone Soup".

To read Bluebone Soup please follow the link to Bluebone Soup

The runner up with a prize of $300 is Peter Rodgers

from Bundanoon NSW for his story "My Island Home" .

To read My Island Home please follow the link to My Island Home

The winner of the $500 "Gabo Prize" for a very short story is

Nicole Gouda  from MonaVale NSW for her story "Parish Picnic".

To read Parish Picnic please follow the link to Parish Picnic

An encouragement award of $100 has been awarded to

Alexandra Elgue from Brandon ACT for her story "Tide will tell".

To read Tide will tell please follow the link to Tide will tell

We would like to thank, everyone who entered our competition.

Thanks to our dedicated judging team of Jim Sakkas, Sue Hines,

Lyn Harwood, Robyn Buckley, Marie Connellan, Mick Bartholomew

and Callista Cooper.






The competition offers a choice of entering a work of 700 words limit for the "Gabo Prize", or a story of under 2500 words for the "Mallacoota Prize.

Named in honour of local poet Edwin James Brady (1869-1952) the competition recognises Mallacoota's long-standing literary and artistic traditions. Mr Brady's accomplishments were rather varied, as Australian Dictionary of Biography lists his occupations as agricultural writer, auto biographer/memoirist, biographer, journalist, newspaper editor, poet, short story writer and socialist!

   The judges include Bruce Pascoe, author of many published works of fiction such as "Bloke" and non-fiction such as "Convincing Ground". He published and edited Australian Short Stories quarterly magazine for 16 years, was winner of the radio National short story competition (1998) and the Australian Literature Award (1999).

 Bruce will be assisted by Lyn Harwood, editor of the Babe is Wise, short story publisher, co author of "Cape Otway: coast of secrets." Sue Hines, author of short stories for younger readers "Spider Mania", "Fright Night", and young Adult fiction "Out of the Shadows", "The Plunketts" and "The Water Boys"  joins them in the judging. Winner of the Vogel Literary Award, Jim Sakkas, has been involved in the judging of the competition since its inception.